The Apprenticeship

“Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing about.”

-Benjamin Franklin

I’ve wanted to start a blog for a while now, but never knew what to write about. Even more so, I didn’t know if anyone would care. But recently, I stumbled upon the quote above from Benjamin Franklin. I realized maybe I won’t write because it’s worth reading, but I will do something worthy of writing.

I put the phrase “the apprentice” in the tagline because as a young Advertising and Public Relations student at the University of Arkansas, I feel as if it fully defines where I am right now. The Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the apprentice as follows:

As a student, I have four years with professionals and professors, who are experts in the field, to learn and to refine my craft. A professor recently told me to utilize all the help you can in college because once you graduate, you’re just an adult like the rest of us.

That word “adult” is a scary one. It’s spring of sophomore year, so in just less than two years that word will become a reality. But until then, I’ll learn more, experience more and, hopefully, share more. I’m not sure if the next couple years will bring writing worthy of reading, but I will experience things worthy of writing.

Let the apprenticeship begin.

Leave a Reply

